• Home
  • /
  • World
  • /
  • UK: New Fee for Visa Free Nationals

UK: New Fee for Visa Free Nationals

In a move aimed at enhancing border security, the United Kingdom will be introducing an electronic travel authorization (ETA) system by the end of 2024. This new requirement will affect individuals who currently do not need a visa to enter the UK for up to 6 months, including citizens from the European Union (EU) and the United States (US).

The new system will require visitors to obtain and pay for an ETA prior to their travel, either online or via a mobile application. Travellers would need to provide personal information such as a photograph, contact information, passport details, as well as inquiries concerning criminal offenses and immigration history.

According to the House of Commons Library, the precise fee for obtaining an ETA is yet to be confirmed but is expected that the cost will be within the same range as Countries that operate similar travel authorization systems, for example the European Travel Information and Authorisation System will cost 7 Euro.

Each ETA will remain valid for multiple entries into the UK and will expire after 2 years. It is important to note that travelers who don’t adhere to the new travel requirement can be denied entry into the UK.

List of non-visa Nationals:

British Overseas Territories citizens, British Nationals (Overseas), British Overseas citizens, British protected persons, British subjects without the right of abode in the United Kingdom, European Union citizens (except Ireland), Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, East Timor, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Liechtenstein, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Vatican City.

Leave a Reply