• Home
  • /
  • World
  • /
  • Germany Powers Down Nuclear Plants

Germany Powers Down Nuclear Plants

The Federal Republic of Germany, located in Central Europe, is bordered by several countries including Denmark to the north, Poland and the Czech Republic to the east, Austria and Switzerland to the south, and France, Luxembourg, Belgium, and the Netherlands to the west. With a population of over 83 million, Germany is the most populous member state of the EU (European Union) and the second-most populous country in Europe, following Russia.

According to NPR, Germany has shut down its three remaining nuclear power plants as part of a long-planned transition toward renewable energy. The shutdown was closely watched abroad as other industrialized countries, such as the United States, Japan, China, France, and Britain, are counting on nuclear energy to replace planet-warming fossil fuels.

The report further mentions decades of anti-nuclear protests in Germany that put pressure on the government to end the use of a technology that critics argue is unsafe and unsustainable. Environmental groups planned to mark the day with celebrations outside the three reactors Emsland, Neckarwestheim II and Isar II, with other rallies and indoor jubilations in major cities.

The German government has acknowledged the reality of having to rely on fuels such as coal and natural gas in the short term, notwithstanding its ambitious plans to substantially scale up the production of renewable energy from solar and wind sources to meet the country’s energy demands.

This recognition comes as Germany strives to achieve its goal of becoming carbon neutral by the year 2045, indicating the country’s unwavering commitment to transitioning towards a low-carbon future, even in the face of significant challenges.

Leave a Reply